Aetna Reviews

Show reviews that mention
insurance doctor health service customer service customer people coverage money phone
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bad treatment

Update by user Oct 19, 2020

Heard or received nothing at this point, NO surprise there.

Original review posted by user Sep 19, 2020
I was transferred to a local banner hospital because of my suicide attempt, First things first I requested to be left alone and I would sign that refusal I as turned day and told that was not my right. I was transported to the Banner Ironwood hospital and kept under observation, no drugs are given, no stomach pumping just to be watched and left alone. I was visited by a Doctor and had a video chat on the video link on the TV with a counselor and both told me that I needed to go to a behavioral health hospital and if I agreed I would be out with 23 hours, guess what yeah right Why isnt all banner employees on the same page? This was a total lie. I was placed into behavioral Banner health in Scottsdale over an hour away from my family and home, what pushing up the ambulance time, mileage, and cost? I was placed into my room after sitting alone for approx. one hour not knowing what was going on. All my property taken away and was sitting in scrubs that I was changed into on Sunday night and was wearing since Sunday night and now it was Monday afternoon with no offer of a change of clothing or an offer of a shower. I was given that nasty test of the corvid 19 up the nose even though I had it and was cleared just over a month ago, then quarantined in my room all day on Monday, when Tuesday arrived a nurse came in to invite me to go with the floor group to go to the downstairs cafeteria for lunch when the nurse taking my vitals heard that she said No he is good to go his test came back negative Wow thank you for that forgotten and not shared information. I couldnt go down because I had NO off unit footwear, of which I requested and didnt get. A case manager came to my door and asked me several questions that were already taken with the nurse earlier, that was the one and only time I saw my so-called case manager good job Banner and the case manager. The same day a so-called doctor arrived to ask me the same questions as all the nurses have already asked, after that she left with no feedback on my stay. That was the last time I saw her until the day of my release of which I requested after my complaints to the medical manager of my treatment there. So having a so-called doctor twice in a week asking me the same standard questions and then leave, having a case manager visit me once within day two is enough. All I received at this place was my Vitals took and the normal meds that I had at home each day, how does that seem to Banner as a mental health help? I felt neglected while their, thank God that I resolved my own mental issues during the time I was left alone. I was told by other patients that they were also not getting the mental health that they really needed, I complained to get out ASAP I was told by the so-called Doctor that she thought that Saturday might be the day too go, What? Why? No real response, hence my sit-down with the nurse floor manager with my complaints, I was cleared and told that I would be leaving this day of Friday and be told when to phone for a ride. Banner needs the Doctors to scan the patient's wrist band when they visit the patient and then finish their visit, these Doctors are falsifying their visits, cheating banner and the patients Hence this very long email. They are stealing money without the necessary mental help we all need, watch them scan their duties. Offensive behavior. Getting a nurse that is sitting in the middle nursing center is bad, I stood there waiting to request something I was there a long time before an actual tech asked what did I need, I said I am waiting for an actual nurse to stop surfing and texting to look up and assist me, you need cameras to watch the nurses station, not us. The so-called speaker system doesnt enter the rooms so if you are in there look luck with hearing it. On I think this past Thursday we had a patient complain to a TV room of other patients to please speak quieter because she couldnt hear the TV in, the way it was asked could have been in a better manner or the staff should have been informed, well anyway with the raised voices the nursing staff came in with the order that the TV room will be locked down, we were treated like naughty child NO please but go to your rooms. When vacating the TV room one f the patients was zoomed into by the staff accusing her of being the ring leader totally wrong, she was told to go to her room and she couldnt go down to the cafeteria for dinner, she said to each staff member So you are stopping me from my dinner downstairs? None of the staff answered just standing there with their arms folded, she decided to clear the Nurses station shelve of all the ready-made meals onto the floor. That could have been handled better by the staff, then she was taken to her room by a couple of heavy-set techs, one turned around and told me Go to your room once again spoken to like a child No manners just damn rudeness. When we all returned from dinner the nurse stood in the doorway of the TV room and was told again in a rude manner Go to your room that pissed everyone off, good job guys. The trouble in the TV room was because the patients involved were all detox patients, why are you mixing these patients with us? If you have a lack of rooms for them elsewhere then this was a wrong decision, all they spoke about was their dealers, when will they get their next fix, and sex mainly female gay sex. So my question is this: What did I get to help my mental health? I received meds that I had at home, a bed that I had at home, and three meals a day that I had at home. So much for safety with Detox people all around us, with patients attempting to get better, good plan guys. I left there looking scruffy with no electric hair trimmers available, why not? You offer a wet razor while being watched by a nurse I request that four times with the response I shall take care of that later yeah right, WHEN? I got a change of Scrubs on Wednesday, wearing my old ones since Sunday, yuck. A pair of rubber-soled socks on Wednesday so now I can go down to the cafeteria thanks, guys. When I was being discharged I was told that I had to pay this over the top bill before living, or you shall not be leaving A bill for what? I could have gone to a motel six and had three meals and been charged with the low hundred dollars range instead of a bill for thousands for the same service. I need my billing looked at and corrected this email is being copied and emailed to other places including my insurance company. This is a very offended, abused, self helped, and pissed customer. Anthony Edwards 0013013**** Acct number Mr number {{Redacted}}

User's recommendation: Avoid this Banner location.

View full review
ID
#2179007 Review #2179007 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Banner Health Medical Care
Pros
  • It is a free service
Cons
  • Hopefully get help that i need
Loss
$304800
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Takes your money, denies coverage

Original review updated by user Jul 20, 2021
My wife worked for a large corporation and left for another job. Having already met the annual deductible, we elected Cobra coverage through Aetna. After being rushed to the hospital for emergency surgery a month later, I received a letter from Aetna saying they would cover it. Great? NOT!!! Aetna later claimed that I should have had Medicare Part B and said it would not cover what part B would have. Of course, that was never mentioned when the Cobra election was made, in the letter claiming they would cover expenses related to that specific hospital visit, and you can't find it in the "coverage" they say you have when you look up your account on line. I've been fighting this for almost 2 months now.

User's recommendation: Sue them! They are messing with you life and livelihood!

View full review
ID
#2697921 Review #2697921 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack of coverage
Loss
$75000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Coverage

Original review updated by user Jul 20, 2021
Enrolled in an Aetna PPO advantage plan. It covers very little. No payments are going to my deductable or maximum out of pocket expenses of $7500.oo . Please consider UHC, Humana, or BCBS etc.

User's recommendation: Chose insurance wisely.

View full review
ID
#2697311 Review #2697311 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack of coverage
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Knee replacement denid

Update by user Jul 05, 2021

no where

Original review posted by user Jul 05, 2021
orthopedic dr said i need a knee replacement butd doctor aetna said to soon even thou they keep taking my money every month and want me to wait for 3 more months to try other costly things do not recommoned aetna medicare they take your money but no good srevice what a waste

User's recommendation: find a other health ins, i am going to.

View full review
ID
#2657170 Review #2657170 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
find a other ins,
New Reviewer

Unwillingness to rectify their erroneous mistake

They canceled my wife's and my supplemental plans by mistake and will not (they say they "cannot" reinstate them

User's recommendation: Stay away for Aetna.

View full review
ID
#2603523 Review #2603523 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Fairly good plans
Loss
$800
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

They make a person think they have to pay this big payment every month or they will have no medical care and get fined. Than when we tried to cancel they continued to take money out f our account.

When we canceled, it was canceled by us as well as Humana. They were told before we changed companies but kept taking money out of account. We told them about and asked for a refund of what they took out of our account. They said we did not cancel. We did several times, and they know this, we have proof of it. It does not matter, they will do nothing to return what they stole from us.

User's recommendation: Tell Aetna to go frick themselves, stupid lying thieves.

View full review
ID
#2601939 Review #2601939 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Aetna Medicare Advantage Health Plan
Pros
  • There is no pros and they are the cons
  • No pros
Cons
  • Are the cons
Loss
$336
Preferred solution
Full refund

Was denied after being welcomed!!

I was reviewed by an agent of Atena and gave all information including my medical history and medication. even gave all of my banking info for monthly billing. after waiting for insurance card, received a letter saying I was denied due to medicaton or health!!

User's recommendation: Atena is a bait and switch company!!!!

View full review
ID
#2591339 Review #2591339 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Lousey
  • I can
Cons
  • Awful
Preferred solution
Nothing, for this is a nothing company

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
To begin with, in changing health care from Scan to Aetna, I was sent seven (7) insurance cards all with the wrong doctor and medical group. There was nothing wrong with Scan, I only changed because Aetna offered a few more items favorable to me. I have a particular...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2455135 Review #2455135 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Offered good advantages
Cons
  • Very unprofessional service
  • Did not offer medication that was shown to be approved

I WAS SUPPOSE TO HAVE $65.00 IN OTC "S AND NO ONE TOLD ME I HAD TO USE IT AT ONCE

I HAVE CALLED AND WROTE A LETTER WITH THE RECEIPT FROM THE CVS AND NOT ONE PERSON HAS CONTACTED ME AND NOT A PHONE CALL OR ANYTHING AND I WANT THE $50.00 THAT IS OWED TO ME AND ALL I USED WAS ONLY $15.00 DOLLERS AND SO MANY ITEMS WERE OUT OF STOCK AND IF I WAS TOLD THIS BY THE PERSON WHO SIGNED ME UP AND I JUST GOT FINNALLY THE BOOK I WANTED ON BENFITS,, JULIE CHESTNUT 101209****00 I WANT SOME ANWERS AND THE $50.00 0WED TO ME IN OTCS NOWTH
View full review
ID
#2446672 Review #2446672 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Stuart, Florida
New Reviewer

I need to know about my kid insurance

I try to call to customer service to check my kid insurance due to my kid going to dental exam at Nova family dental at Fairfax and the nurses said stop accept Aetna insurance. So I would like to know the reason why? They didnt accept my kid card.

User's recommendation: Thank you for kindly help.

View full review
ID
#2444959 Review #2444959 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Falls Church, Virginia
Preferred solution
My kid card

Aetna me ber

The worst medical ever , dont buy there awful med insurance , if you get sick you are going to die
View full review
ID
#2389029 Review #2389029 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California

Refused to pay for tests that my Dr. ordered.

I had a CT scan and it revealed that I had enlarged lymph nodes. Dr. said I needed a MRI to see why lymph nodes are enlarged. Aetna refused to pay for it.

User's recommendation: DO NOT GET TRICKED INTO Aetna.

View full review
ID
#2388647 Review #2388647 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Leo-Cedarville, Indiana

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

NO cooperation

I bought Aetna as a Medicare supplement. Their prices are HIGHER than their quotes and I have been trying to get my money back for 3 months! I keep calling, they don't care. They say they have issued 3 checks. Funny! A letter made it to me saying they were going to mail me a check. Why not put the check IN WITH THE LETTER?!!!! No supervisors available and "it will be 7 - 14 days BEFORE they mail them!" I asked them, if you can take the money OUT of my bank account, why can't you put the money back INTO my account? "Oh, we just don't do it that way". Tonight I called and ; he offered to put it back in my bank account. It will be 7 - 14 days before they receive the request!!!! IDIOTS!!! Rude and untrustworthy!
View full review
ID
#2356275 Review #2356275 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$112
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

Paid up insurance was arbitrarily cancelled by some clown there

Original review updated by user Dec 10, 2020
I have been with Aetna for my secondary insurance for 2 years. Most recently I signed with a different branch of Aetna for secondary insurance starting 1/1/21. I by no means cancelled existing insurance since I have two scheduled doctor's appointments in the latter part of December 2020. Aetna took it upon themselves to cancel my existing insurance and to email me a notice stating that since I will have new insurance on 1/1/21 they have cancelled my existing insurance immediately. Be very careful
View full review
ID
#2330332 Review #2330332 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
I need my policy reinstated immediately

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They cost me 2 days' pay.

I switched companies, and the sales rep guaranteed I would not pay more. But she was wrong (or lying...), and I now have to pay extra for 3 whole months, until I can get back to my old company. Ouch. I don't make that much money.

User's recommendation: Never speak to a sales rep without a lawyer present. Record every conversation.

View full review
ID
#2234764 Review #2234764 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Handy
Cons
  • Expensive
Loss
$145
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
Where do I start, I signed up for 2020 open season. On 1-2-2020 I signed up for auto ship for my meds with CVS Caremark, which owns Aetna. My meds were being shipped until June 2020, and then they stopped. I called and was told I was not on auto ship, I guess it was my...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1942246

I have the same problem. Everything worked until June/July 2020. I have now escalated to an Aetna sr exec

ID
#2233831 Review #2233831 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Pharmacy Direct Prescription Refill
Cons
  • Ceo does not give a damn
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Close Nocaremark before they kill somebody

Brands Related to Aetna

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article